The future of Apple lies in the watch 

Standard

Apple has done extremely well over the past few years. Even after the passing of its visionary leader and brand icon Steve Jobs, Tim Cook has steered the ship to even greater unknown territories without flinching a bit.

The death of Apple was greatly exaggerated

There might be a couple of reasons why Apple remains successful;

  1. Apple is following through the roadmap they have worked on with Jobs for the next 10 years. So nothing changes and company’s got Jobs blessings.
  2. Jobs was just a father figure and it’s still business as usual after his passing.

tim cook_georgeiswrite

The reason for this posting is nothing to do with Apple’s future as a business because we all know that they are gonna be fine. Even if Apple makes a terrible move, they can still ride the wave with the kind of cash reserves they have. My intent of this post is to serve as to where Apple is headed  as a consumer and how do I see it coming. Previously it was the iPhone that pointed to what we could expect for iPad, iPod and so on. But I feel iPhone is just going to follow something else, a new entrant.

A few days ago I purchased the Apple Watch Sport. I was a bit skeptical at first because I’ve read various reports about Apple Watch’s dwindling sales but then I thought you know what! Let’s do this!

My Take

The Apple Watch is weighty & porcelain piece of art. The software was a beast by itself. There is nothing familiar about the OS, it was something new. It was smooth, fluid and personal. It told me to stand up, told when my email came and even took my heart rate! I was not blown away instead I finally understood where Apple was heading.

I was watching the introduction of iOS 9 at WWDC 2015 and I finally saw how this is all gonna make sense for the experience that Apple is looking to bring to the masses. Previously, the iPhone always pointed what iPad would be receiving in future but now it’s the Watch that is going to show what the iPhone and the iPad is going to get.

Here are the features that we are going to see on the next iPhone & iPad;

1. Hey Siri voice activation
2. Circle UI App management
3. Force Touch for revealing additional features
4. Magnetic wireless power charger
5. Lift to activate phone from sleep
6. Proactive contextual alerts
7. Digital crown (I wish)

fin.

Leave a comment